Quake

Last night I was shaken awake, and I thought it was my mother trying to wake me and alert me that my son was crying and needed tending to, but I quickly realized this was not the case as my mind registered three things:

1-      My son was silent in his crib.

2-      My mother was repeating the Kalmah over and over again

3-      The bed underneath me was shaking.

It was the first ever earthquake that I experienced, and I pray to Allah (SWT) that it be my last.  Indeed, I have realized that I prefer the ground beneath my feet to be nice and stable, thank you very much.

The thing that terrified me the most, was not just the movement and the shaking, but the awful sound that accompanied it.  A vibrating thrum that quickly became a cross between a scream and a roar.

Whenever there’s an earthquake, we’re always taught that it is nothing to be alarmed about, it’s just a simple movement or shift of the tectonic plates which make up the Earth’s crust. The thing is, when you’re experiencing an earthquake, you see the truth for what it is.  It is nothing but the wrath of Allah (SWT) and He is making His displeasure KNOWN.  These “tectonic plate shifts” are the means by which He makes this apparent.

Let me explain.

Someone wakes up in the morning to strange sounds in the kitchen.  The sounds are accompanied with the smell of food.  It clicks in that person’s mind that food is being made.  The food is being made because I am the one making it, and I am making it because I am hungry.  My hunger is the causation for the food’s being made and the resulting sounds and smells.

So yes, Allah (SWT) was most definitely displeased that night.  If anyone had any doubts about this fact, it was confirmed by the thunder and lightning that followed, which was shortly succeeded by forceful gusts of wind that rattled the windows and caused our doors to slam shut.

And now, the morning after, everything is eerily calm and settled.  Not a single item is out of place.  It was as if it never happened.

Just like the minds of the people that experienced it.

Yes, we’re all talking about it and discussing it, talking about how scared we were and how we had trouble settling down to sleep.  Yes, we acknowledge that this is the wrath of Allah (SWT) for our sins.  But just like my toothbrush which hasn’t even shifted from its spot, our bad habits will remain stubbornly in place.  We do not see this as what it is: a clear warning from Allah (SWT) that we MUST reform.  We consider it as something only meant for, you know, those SERIOUS sinners.  The ones that do drugs and kill people and stuff.

We don’t think about the dead flesh of our brothers and sisters that we eat.  Daily.

We don’t think about the lies and exaggerations we tell.

We don’t think about the way we blatantly disobey the commandments of Allah (SWT) and mock the sunnah of Rasool Allah (SAW).

We don’t think about the Day of Judgement.

In the name of Allah, the Gracious, the Merciful.

1. When the earth is shaken with her violent shaking

2. And the earth throws up her burdens,

3. And man says, “What is the matter with her?”

4. On that day will she tell her news,

5. For, thy Lord will have commanded her.

6. On that day will men issue forth, in scattered groups that they may be shown the results of their works.

7. Then whoso does an atom’s weight of good will see it,

8. And whoso does an atom’s weight of evil will also see it.

Another scene from the Day of Judgment that particularly terrifies me to think about:

Allah will grasp the earth on the Day of Resurrection and will roll up the heavens in His Right, then He will say, “I am the King! Where are the kings of the earth?” [Al-Bukhari]

Can you imagine seeing this?  Can you imagine how your shoulder blades would knock into each other as you shake uncontrollably with fear upon such a sight and hearing such a challenging declaration?

Honestly, after this experience, as brief as it was, I understand a bit of what Judgement Day could be like.  And I find myself dreading it with all that is in me.  Every time I hear about it, I wonder the same thing—Is there any way to ensure that one could die and never have to experience even a second of the fear of Judgment Day?  Is there any way to protect oneself from its horrors?

The answer is this:

Allah never puts His servants in double jeopardy.  He doesn’t put two fears together.  If you fear Allah (SWT) in this life and live your life with that fear, you will feel no fear on the Day of Judgment Inshallah.

“…All who submit themselves completely to Allah and are good-doers will find their reward with their Lord. They will feel no fear and know no sorrow.” (Surat al-Baqara, 112)

And verily, with Allah is the Salvation.

Comments
5 Responses to “Quake”
  1. SALMAN says:

    mashallah very good article may ALLAH help us to think like this and to spend our life according to islam.

  2. ummsulaim says:

    Asalamoalaykum warahmatullah,

    SubhanAllah!
    That just brought chills down my spine!
    We often take ‘ordinary’ blessings for granted…and continue sinning day in day out.
    May Allah SWT protect you, your family and all the Muslims in this world from being amongst those who face the Wrath of Allah SWT either in this dunia or Akhira.Ameen.
    Mashaa’Allah, an excellent article which just motivated me to research on quick ideas on how to make Allah SWT happy. BarakAllahu feeki ukhti.

    Please keep writing and reminding us all.

    Love,
    -UmmS.

    • Jazakallahukhairan for your support, your comments make my day!
      Do share the fruits of your research, Sister.
      May Allah (SWT) make us among the Sabiqoon.
      May the One for whose sake you love me love us both in return.
      Love,
      Rebecca S.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...


Leave a Reply

