Goals for September

Bismillah arRahman arRahim

Last year I took a summer Arabic course at International Islamic University Islamabad (IIUI) that I really enjoyed.  Alhumdulilah, I benefited from it greatly, and the classwork as well as my personal studies really accelerated my Arabic.  Unfortunately, my method of “keeping up with the material” once the class was over was simply to recite the Quran and call it a day.  While my tajweed and recitation proficiency is steadily improving, my Arabic speaking skills are in need of improvement.  As a result, I’m pulling out my old Arabic books and dusting them off to give myself a “refresher course.”

Another personal goal for me is to create a homeschooling curriculum that encompasses both secular and Islamic subjects of study.  I want to try to map out grades pre-K through twelfth grade.  I figure that planning ahead will make it easier for me to achieve my goal of homeschooling my child.  At the same time, if we eventually decide not to homeschool, the material will allow me to make sure my son is reaching all of his benchmarks in his academic career and supplement his education at home accordingly.

Inshallah, by the end of this month I plan to:

  1. Finish reviewing all 16 units of “Al Arrabiyatu Fi Bayna Yadayk”
  2. Finish planning a course of study up to Kindergarten
  3. Finish the layout and design of this website and make it fully functional
Leave a Reply

